Permission to Forward

2010 Molly is Open for Entries

Purpose: The purpose of THE MOLLY is to inspire, motivate, and reward unpublished authors of romance fiction.

Eligibility: Participation is open to all unpublished authors of novel length romance fiction and those who have not published within three years prior to contest deadline. Previous Molly FIRST PLACE winning entries are not eligible to enter that winning manuscript. Reformatting and/or title changes of previous winning entries will result in disqualification and forfeiture of entry fees.  All work must be the author’s original work that has not been contracted for publication prior to the contest deadline. The official entry form (which may be copied) and entry fee must accompany each submission.


Contemporary – Romantic novels, which may also include sensuality that may or may not be intense. Projected word count: More than 40,000 words.

Single Title – Romantic novels released as individual titles. Projected word count: over 70,000 words.

Romantic Suspense – Romance novels in which suspense may constitute a strong element in the romance plot. Projected word count: over 70,000 words.

Historical – Novels that have a strong romantic element throughout. This includes Regency and gothic romances. Settings must be at least one hundred years in the past. Word count: over 40,000.

Paranormal/Time-Travel/Futuristic – Romantic novels with any time setting that contain elements such as time-travel, angels, or other mystical/paranormal themes or set in the future. Word count: over 40,000 words.

Young Adult – Novels with a romantic element aimed at teen and young adult readers. Word Count: More than 40,000 words.

HODRW reserves the right to return all entries and fees if the minimum entry number for each category (10) is not received. Entrants will be contacted to see if they wish to place their entry in another category before entries are returned.  We  accept Electronic entries only.

Entry Deadline: All entries must be received by May 25, 2010.  Entries must be received by 11:59pm MDT May 25, 2010.  Please factor in your ISP may not deliver in mere seconds.

Entry Fee: $30 for all HODRW members, $35 for all RWA members who are not members of HODRW, and $40 for all non-RWA members.  You may pay by using  Payments by check or money order must be marked “for Molly Entry 2010”.  Send to:

Grace Larralde

719  Butte Pass Rd

Ft. Collins, CO   80526

International entries must use the PayPal method.

EARLY BIRD Deadline – DEDUCT $5 FROM FEE IF  e-mailed BY April 25, 2010

Entry Checklist

_____  One (1) completed and signed official entry form and agreement for each entry.  Entry forms should be in the body of email.

_____  First up to thirty (30) pages of your manuscript.  This can be a combination of Prologue plus Chapter One+, but 30 pages maximum.  Formatting should be standard Times New Roman 12 or 14 or Courier 12, 1 inch margins, saved in .rtf.  Five (5) page max of your synopsis (same formatting as ms entry).  It is best to use the standard Hard Page Break with the synopsis included in the one file.

_____ One (1) check or money order made out to “HODRW” for the applicable entry fee for each entry.  Or the PayPal receipt of payment or confirmation number.

_____ Entry sent to the category coordinator

ELECTRONIC ENTRIES:  Format/Checklist: Each entry will be formatted and presented as follows:

Entries MUST be in an .RTF (rich text format) file.

Header on manuscript and synopsis pages should contain title and category in the upper left corner and the page number in the upper right.

A category subgenre (i.e. “Regency,” “Time Travel,” “Young Adult,” etc. ) may but need not also be included in the header.

We understand formatting sometimes changes in transmission, but every attempt should be taken to maintain proper formatting and ready for printing.  Some of the final round judges still ask us to print the finalists entries mailed to them.

Author’s name may not appear anywhere on the manuscript or synopsis, or the entry will be disqualified.

Author’s name should only be on the separate entry form.

Copy Contest Entry Form and Contestant Agreement into an email with a subject line of Molly Entry and Category name.

Attach entry and then email completed form to proper category coordinator.   (ENTRIES MUST BE  .rtf FORMAT).  The title of your entry should be the file name.

Payment is encouraged through PayPal, but payment by check for electronic entries must be received by the HOD treasurer – with a printed entry form for proper tracking – by May 20, 2010.

Verification of receipt of entry will be made by email address included on the entry form.  If you do NOT receive a verification email within 72 hours, please notify the appropriate coordinator immediately.



First Round: Two qualified judges will judge the first round.  The top 30 percent of entries in each category will move into the second round.

Re-judging will occur in the first round only, and only where there is a difference of at least twenty (20) points between the two judges, AND the higher judge gave a score of 85 or more.  When re-judging occurs, the lowest score will be discarded (whether or not it is an original or rejudged score).

Second Round: The second round will be judged by two published authors.

After the four scores from first and second round are received, the lowest of the four scores will be dropped. The three entries with the highest total of the three remaining scores will advance to the finals.  Additional finalists will be added in the event of a tie for third place.

Judges for both rounds are encouraged to comment within the manuscript on ELECTRONIC entries.

Final Round: An editor/agent will select a winner from the finalists.

Final Round Judges:

Contemporary:     Patience Smith, Harlequin

Historical:            TBA

Paranormal/TimeTravel/Futuristic:            TBA

Young Adult:     Katelynn Lacopo, BookEnds Literary Agency

Single Title:     Holly Blanck, St Martins Press

Romantic Suspense:     Danielle Poiesz, Simon and Schuster, Pocket Books

Heart of Molly:        TBA

Unsinkable Heroine:   TBA


First Round semi-finalists will be notified by APPROXIMATELY July 1, 2010.

Second Round finalists will be notified by APPROXIMATELY August 5, 2010.

Winners will be notified by APPROXIMATELY October 17, 2010, following the contest award ceremony.


The first place winner in each category will receive the “Molly Award Plaque.”

All other finalists will receive certificates.

Results will be publicized on loops and in the RWR.

“The Unsinkable Heroine” Award: Each entry will be judged for “The Unsinkable Heroine” award.  This award is separate from the regular contest scoring and in no way reflects adversely or advantageously to the general scoring system.  The heroine in each entry will be judged for Spunk, Imagination & Creativity, and Unsinkability.

Beginning in 2010, all entries with two perfect scores on the Unsinkable Heroine score sheet will be compared to their overall scores in round one.  Then the highest three scoring will be advanced to the Unsinkable Heroine finalists.  All those receiving the two perfect scores will receive Honorable Mention certificates.

The Heart of Molly Award: Only Heart of Denver Romance Writers (HODRW) members (as of January 31, 2010) are eligible for this special award at no additional charge and in addition to the Molly and/or Unsinkable Heroine Awards.  An agent or editor will select the winner from the first and second round top HODRW scores for the 2010 Heart of Molly Award.

Submission: Entries must be directed to the appropriate category coordinator:

Entries for Romantic Suspense or Contemporary:

Email entry to: Lesli Lent,

Entries for Paranormal/TimeTravel/Futuristic, Single Title or Young Adult:

Email entry to: Lisa Pietsch,

Entries for Historical:

Email entry to: Roxanne Kean,

General Questions?  Email Lesli Lent at